Cook Islands is located in the southeast of the Oceania Continent, with a population of 10,777, making it the 224th largest
national population. Its capital and largest city is
Avarua with a total population of 5,445. The country encompasses 236
square kilometers comprised of 15 islands clustered into two groups making it the 2
15th largest country in total area. It
shares boundaries with the South Pacific Ocean.

Queen Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom is recognized as the Chief of State and achieves that status through heredity and
holds that position for life or abdication. She is represented by Sir Frederick
Tutu Goodwin who achieves that status
through appointment by the monarch and New Zealand High Commissioner John C
arter who achieves that status through
appointment by the Government of New Zealand. Prime Minister Henry P
una is recognized as the Head of Government
and, along with Deputy Prime Minister T
om John Marsters achieves that status following legislative elections when the
leader of the majority party or majority coalition usually becomes prime minister and holds that position five years. Its form
of government is a self governing parliamentary democracy in free association with New Zealand and they celebrate the
creation of their constitution on 4th of August 1965.

The languages commonly or officially spoken are English and Maori. It counts among its major religions Cook Islands
Christian Church, Roman Catholic, Seventh-Day Adventist, Church of Latter Day Saints, other Protestant, other,
unspecified and none. As sources of mass communication it has 1 AM, 1 FM and 1 Television stations.

Major geographical features are Te Manga, its highest point at 652 meters and the Pacific Ocean, its lowest point at 0
meters. Its principal waterway is the Pacific Ocean, which measures 120 kilometers of coastline.

Major industries providing for the bulk of their Gross Domestic Product (GDP) are fruit processing, tourism, fishing,
clothing and handicrafts. Its official currency is New Zealand Dollar.

Here’s something you may not know about Cook Islands. Named after Captain Cook, who sighted them in 1770, the
islands became a British protectorate in 1888. By 1900, administrative control was transferred to New Zealand.
Aitutaki surrounded by
the Pacific Ocean,
Cook Islands' lowest
point and the location
for Survivor: Cook
Beach at Vaikoa on
Nassau Island
Avarua- Cook Islands'
capital and largest city
on Rarotonga Island
Black Rock,  
Rarotonga Island
Cook Islands Christian
Dancers in traditional
Cook Islands dress
Jagged peaks and
deep valleys of
Rarotonga Island
Katsudon-a cultural
dish made of pork and
Divers on the wreck of
Maritime Reefer
Abi's Home Page
Back to
Motu Muri Lagoon
Rarotonga Island
Rapota Motu a small
deserted island
Rugged and lushly
green interior of
Rarotonga Island
Updated 08 December 2012
Adult Prevalence Rate:

People Living with HIV/AIDS:

HIV/AIDS Deaths:


Sunset on Rarotonga
Te Manga -Cook
Islands' highest point
located on Rarotonga
The Rua Manga or
"Needle" (413 meters)
on Rarotonga Island
Typical Cook Islands
Mangaia- the
southernmost of the
Cook Islands
(Tongareava)- Cook
Islands' northernmost
New Zealand Navy
delivering emergency
supplies on Pukapuka-
Cook Islands'
westernmost point
Sea Cave on Mauke-
Cook Islands'
easternmost point
Read about human rights in Pax
Gaea World
Post Report!