Principality of Liechtenstein is located in the center of the European Continent, with a population of 36,713, making it
the 213th largest national population. Its capital and largest city is
Vaduz with a total population of 5,342. The country
encompasses 160 square kilometers making it the 219th largest country in total area. It shares boundaries with Austria
and Switzerland.

Prince Hans Adam II is recognized as the Chief of State and, along with Heir Apparent Prince Alois, achieves that
status through heredity and holds that position for life or abdication. On 15 August 2004, Hans Adam transferred the
official duties of the ruling prince to Alois, but Hans Adam retains status of Chief of State. Prime Minister Dr. Klaus
Tschütscher is recognized as the Head of Government and, along with Deputy Prime Minister Dr. Martin Meyer,
achieves that status following legislative elections, when the leader of the majority party in the Landtag and his
ministers are usually appointed the Head of Government and Cabinet by the Monarch and holds that position for four
years. Its form of government is a constitutional monarchy and they celebrate the creation of their constitution on 5th
of October 1921.

The languages commonly or officially spoken are German and Alemannic dialect. It counts among its major religions
Roman Catholic, Protestant, unknown and other faiths. As sources of mass communication it has 0 AM, 4 FM, 0
Short Wave and 0 Television stations but they are connected to Swiss networks.

Major geographical features are Vorder-Grauspitz, its highest point at 2,599 meters and Ruggeller Riet, its lowest point
at 430 meters. Its principal waterway is the Rhine River, which measures 26 kilometers.

Major industries providing for the bulk of their Gross Domestic Product (GDP) are electronics, metal manufacturing,
dental products, ceramics, pharmaceuticals, food products, precision instruments, tourism and optical instruments. Its
official currency is Swiss Franc.

Here’s something you may not know about Liechtenstein. The blue and red flag was given official status in October
1921. At the 1936 Olympics it was learned that Haiti used this same flag; thus, in 1937 a yellow crown was added,
which symbolizes the unity of the people and their prince. The blue stands for the sky, red for the evening fires in
homes. The flag was last modified on September 18th 1982.
southernmost city
Liechtenstein's highest
and southernmost  
point on the border
with Switzerland
Hawk in the Galina
Falcon Center
Käsknöpfle- a
Liechtenstein cheese
Liechtensteiner people
in traditional clothes
Vaduz- the capital and
largest city of
The Castle of Vaduz
Abi's Home Page
Back to
Updated 13 February 2013
Adult Prevalence Rate:

People Living with HIV/AIDS:

HIV/AIDS Deaths:


The Rhine marshlands
of Ruggeller Riet-
Liechtenstein's lowest
The Rhine River
divides Switzerland
from Liechtenstein
North of Ruggell-
northernmost point on
the border with Austria
easternmost point on
the border with Austria
westernmost point on
the border with
Samina River Valley
Read about human rights in Pax
World Post Report!