Union of Myanma, also known as Union of Burma, is located in the southeast of the Asian Continent, with a
population of 54,584,650, making it the 24th largest national population. Its capital is
Nay Pyi Taw and its largest city
Rangoon (also Yangon) with a total population of 4,348,000.  The country encompasses 676,578  square kilometers
making it the 40th largest country in total area. It shares boundaries with China, Laos, Thailand, Andaman Sea, Bay of
Bengal, Bangladesh and India.

President Thein Sein is recognized as the Chief of State and Head of Government and along with Vice Presidents Sai
Mouk Kham and Nyan Htun achieves that status through election by the parliament from among three vice presidents;
the upper house, the lower house, and military members of the parliament each nominate one vice president who all
serve a five year term. Its form of government is nominally a civilian parliamentary government which took power in
March 2011 and they celebrate the creation of their constitution which was approved by referendum on 29 May 2008
and reformed by a series of acts in 2011.

The language commonly or officially spoken is Burmese, and the minority ethnic groups have their own languages. It
counts among its major religions Buddhist, Christian, Muslim, Animist and other faiths. As sources of mass
communication it has 1 AM, 1 FM and 2 Television stations.

Major geographical features are Hkakabo Razi, its highest point at 5,881 meters and the Andaman Sea, its lowest point
at 0 meters. Its principal waterways are the Andaman Sea, Bay of Bengal and the Irrawaddy River, which measures
12,800 kilometers.

Major industries providing for the bulk of their Gross Domestic Product (GDP) are agricultural processing, wood and
wood products, copper, tin, tungsten, iron, cement, construction materials, pharmaceuticals, fertilizer, natural gas,
garments and jade and gems. Its official currency is the Myanmaran (Burmese) Kyat.

Here’s something you may not know about Myanmar (Burma). In November 2005, the military junta started moving
the government away from Yangon to an unnamed location near Kyatpyay just outside Pyinmana, to a newly
designated capital city. This public action follows a long-term unofficial policy of moving critical military and
government infrastructure away from Yangon to avoid a repetition of the events of 1988. On Armed Forces Day
(March 27, 2006), the capital was officially named Nay Pyi daw Myo daw (literally, Royal City of the Seat of Kings).
Buddha statues
Inwa Palace in Monywa
Hikakabo Razi-
Myanmar's  (Burma)
highest point
Lake Inya
Nay Pyi Daw-
Myanmar's new
administrative capital
Shwedagon Pagoda
Yangon (Rangoon)-
Myanmar's official
The Irrawaddy River
Sunset on Cox's Bazar
Beach near the
Bangladesh border on
the Bay of Bengal of
the Andaman Sea-
Myanmar's lowest point
Abi's Home Page
Back to
Updated 16 January 2013
Adult Prevalence Rate:

People Living with HIV/AIDS:

HIV/AIDS Deaths:
0.6% (2009 est.)


Wat Thar Dote Htoe- a
Myanmar dish of pork
skewered on a stick
Burmese children in
the Yangon market
Coco Island in
Myanmar's Andaman
southernmost point on
the border with
Lahus Village on
Myanmar's border with
Mae Sot- Myanmar's
westernmost city
Myanmar border with
Bangladesh near Mae
Salone in the Mergui
Shweli River-
easternmost point on
the border with China
Tamu on Myanmar's
border with India
northernmost point on
the border with China
Myanmar woman and
children in traditional
Read about human rights in Pax
Gaea World Post Report!