Updated 25 August 2012
New Zealand is located in the southeast of the Oceania Continent, with a population of 4,327,944, making it the 126th
largest national population. Its capital is
Wellington and its largest city is Auckland with a total population of
1,377,200. The country encompasses 268,680 square kilometers making it the 7
6th largest country in total area. It
shares boundaries with South Pacific Ocean, Tasman Sea, Cook Strait and Foveaux Strait.

Queen Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom is recognized as the Chief of State and achieves that status through heredity
and holds that position for life or abdication. She is represented by Governor General Lt
. Gen. Sir Jerry Mateparae.
Prime Minister John Phillip Key is recognized as the Head of Government and along with Deputy Prime Minister
Simon William English achieves that status through legislative elections, when the leaders of the majority party or the
leaders of the majority coalition are usually appointed Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister by the Governor
General and hold those positions for three years. Its form of government is a parliamentary democracy and they
celebrate the creation of their constitution on 1st January 1987.

The languages commonly or officially spoken are English and Maori. It counts among its major religions Anglican,
Roman Catholic, Presbyterian, Methodist, Pentecostal, Baptist, other Christian and other, unspecified and no faiths. As
sources of mass communication it has 129 AM, 290 FM, 1 Short Wave and 41 Television stations.

Major geographical features are Mount Cook, its highest point at 3,754 meters and Pacific Ocean, its lowest point at 0
meters. Its principal waterway is Pacific Ocean, which measures 15,139 kilometers of coastline.

Major industries providing for the bulk of their Gross Domestic Product (GDP) are food processing, wood and paper
products, textiles, machinery transportation equipment, banking and insurance, tourism and mining. Its official
currency is New Zealand Dollar.

Here’s something you may not know about New Zealand. Waitangi Day commemorates the signing of a treaty at
Waitangi on the 6th of February 1840 with a group of Maori chiefs and the British Government represented by
Lieutenant Governor Hobson. The treaty was signed by other Maori chiefs in various locations throughout New
New Zealand's  largest
Lake Pukaki in the
shadow of Aoraki
(Mount Cook)- New
Zealand's highest point
East Cape of New
Zealand's North Island
Mutton- a traditional
New Zealand dish
New Zealand students
at Victoria University in
View from North Cape
of the South Pacific
Ocean- New Zealand's
lowest point
View of Great Barrier
Two Maori boys
Abi's Home Page
Back to
New Zealand's capital
Three Kings Islands-
New Zealand's
northernmost island
West coast of
Campbell Island-
New Zealand's
southernmost island
Read about human rights in Pax
World Post Report!
Adult Prevalence Rate:

People Living with HIV/AIDS:

HIV/AIDS Deaths:
0.1% (2009 est.)


less than
Cape Campbell- the
easternmost point of
South Island
Cape Maria Van
Dieman- the
westernmost point of
North Island
Cape Providence- the
westernmost point of
South Island
Cape Farewell Arch-
the northernmost point
of South Island
Chatham Island- the
easternmost point of
New Zealand
Hangi- the traditional
New Zealand style of
cooking underground
Maori in traditional
North Cape- the
northernmost point of
North Island
Waihau Bay at East
Cape- the easternmost
point of North Island
Waipapa Point
Lighthouse- the
southernmost point of
South Island
Cape Palliser- the
southernmost point of
North Island
Yellow-Eyed Penguins
on Auckland Island-
New Zealand's
westernmost point