Updated 16 November 2012
Republic of South Africa is located in the south of the African Continent, with a population of 48,810,427, making it
the 2
6th largest national population. It has three capitals; Pretoria is its administrative capital and Bloemfontein is its
judicial capital. Its legislative capital and largest city is
Cape Town with a total population of 3,740,026. The country
encompasses 1,219,912 square kilometers making it the 25th largest country in total area. It shares boundaries with
Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Indian Ocean, Atlantic Ocean, Namibia, Swaziland and Lesotho.

President Jacob Zuma is recognized as the Chief of State and Head of Government and, along with Executive Deputy
President Kgalema Motlanthe, achieves that status through election of the National Assembly and holds that position
for a five-year term and is eligible for a second term.  Its form of government is a republic and they celebrate the
creation of their constitution on 19th of December 1996.

The languages commonly or officially spoken are Isizulu, IsiXhosa, Afrikaans, Sepedi, English, Setswana, Sesotho,
Xitsonga and other languages. It counts among its major religions Zion Christian, Pentecostal Charismatic, Catholic,
Methodist, Dutch Reformed, Anglican, other Christian, Islam and other, unspecified and no faiths. As sources of
mass communication it has 14 AM, 347 FM, 1 Short Wave and 556 Television stations.

Major geographical features are Njesuthi, its highest point at 3,408 meters and Atlantic Ocean, its lowest point at 0
meters. Its principal waterway is the Atlantic Ocean, which measures 2,798 kilometers of coastline.

Major industries providing for the bulk of their Gross Domestic Product (GDP) are mining, automobile assembly,
metalworking, machinery, textiles, iron and steel, chemicals, fertilizer, foodstuffs and commercial ship building. Its
official currency is the South African Rand.

Here’s something you may not know about South Africa. The name “Soweto” was derived form SOuth WEst
A shrew
Cape Agulhas- South
Africa's southernmost
Bloemfontein- South
Africa's judicial capital
Cape of Good Hope-
where the Atlantic
meets the Indian Ocean
Cape Town- South
Africa's legislative
capital and largest city
Rhino at Kruger
National Park
Leatherback Turtle
Abi's Home Page
Back to
Mama cheetah and cub
Mama and baby
Orange River
Pretoria- South Africa's
administrative capital
Setjetsa- A South
African dish of
pumpkin and mealie
South African kids
Njesuthi (Mafadi)-
South Africa's highest
point on the border
with Lesotho
Read about human rights in Pax
World Post Report!
Alexander Bay- South
Africa's westernmost
point on the Atlantic
Kosi Bay- South
Africa's easternmost
point on the border
with Mozambique on
the Indian Ocean
Dancing albatrosses
on Marion Island-
South Africa's
southernmost point on
Prince Edward Islands
Mmabotho on South
Africa's border with
Musina on South
Africa's border with
Zimbabwe and its
northernmost point
South Africa's border
with Swaziland
South Africa/Namibia
border on the Upington
Karasburg Road
Zulu warrior in
traditional dress
Kalahari Gemsbok
National Park on South
Africa's border with
Namibia and Botswana
Great Karoo Desert
Waterfall at
Botanical Gardens
Adult Prevalence Rate:

People Living with HIV/AIDS:

HIV/AIDS Deaths:
17.8% (2009 est.)

6 million