Updated 05 November 2012
Republic of Sudan is located in the north of the African Continent, with a population of 34,206,710, making it the 36th
largest national population. Its capital is
Khartoum and its largest city is Omduran with a total population of 2,395,159.
The country encompasses 2,505,810 square kilometers making it the 10th largest country in total area. It shares
boundaries with Egypt, The Red Sea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Central
African Republic, Chad and Libya.

President Umar Hassan Ahmad al-Bashir is recognized as the Chief of State and Head of Government and along with
First Vice President Ali Osman Taha and Second Vice President Dr. Al-Haj Adam Youssef, achieves that status
through popular vote for five years. Under a 1995 Comprehensive Peace Agreement, presidential elections were
suspended and President al-Bashir held his post for an additional five years. Its form of government is a Federal
Republic ruled by the National Congress Party the (NCP), which came to power by military coup in 1989; the CPA-
mandated Government of National Unity, which since 2005 provided a percentage of leadership posts to the south
Sudan-based Sudan People's Liberation Movement (SPLM), was disbanded following the secession of South Sudan.
The Interim National Constitution ratified 5 July 2005.

The languages commonly or officially spoken are Arabic, Nubian, Ta Bedawie, diverse dialects of Nilotic, Nilo-
Hamitic, Sudanese languages and English though a program of “Arabization” is in progress. It counts among its major
religions Sunni Muslim, indigenous beliefs and Christian. As sources of mass communication it has 12 AM, 1 FM, 1
Short Wave and, 3 Television stations.

Major geographical features are Kinyeti, its highest point at 3,187 meters and Red Sea, its lowest point at 0 meters. Its
principal waterways are White Nile, Blue Nile, Nile River and the Red Sea, which measures 4,968 kilometers.

Major industries providing for the bulk of their Gross Domestic Product (GDP) are oil, cotton grinning, textiles,
cement, edible oils, sugar, soap distilling, shoes, petroleum refining, pharmaceuticals, armaments and automobile/ light
truck assembly.  Its official currency is Sudanese Dinar.

Here’s something you may not know about Sudan. Bilad al-Sudan was the original name of Sudan, which means,
“Place of the Black People” in Arabic.
The Blue Nile which
flows into Sudan from
Grown elephant in
Southern Sudan
Camels in the Nubian
Desert of Northern
Khartoum- Sudan's
capital and largest city
Ruin of the Kingdom of
Kush at Meroe in the
Nubian Desert
The Libyan Desert on
Sudan's border with
The Sahara
The Nile River as it
flows through Sudan
towards Egypt
Sudan's easternmost
point on the Red Sea
and border with Eritrea
Abi's Home Page
Back to
Sudanese village food
The White Nile which
flows into Sudan from
Read about human rights in Pax
Gaea World Post Report!
Kinyeti near Sudan
border with Chad
Bentiu oil refinery in
Central Sudan
Camel Guards on
Sudan's border with
Wadi Halifa Ferry on
Sudan's Lake Nubia
also known as Lake
Nasser in Egypt
Refugee camp at Al
Junaynah in Darfur-
Sudan's westernmost
point on the border
with Chad
Kurmuk on Sudan's
border with Ethiopia
Kassala on Sudan's
border with Eritrea
Port Sudan on the Red
Sea- Sudan's lowest
South of Hal'ib-
Sudan's northernmost
point on the border
with Egypt in an area
claimed and
administered by Sudan
Adult Prevalence Rate:

People Living with HIV/AIDS:

HIV/AIDS Deaths:
1.1% (2009 est.)


Abyei Area, claimed by
South Sudan but
occupied by Sudan
Deriba Lake near
Jebel Marra- Sudan's
highest point
Ezo- a refugee camp
on the border of
Sudan, South Sudan
and Central African
Hala'ib Triangle- in
Sudan's northeast and
claimed by Sudan and