Updated 01 September 2012
Republic of Uganda is located in the east of the African Continent, with a population of 33,640,833, making it the 37th
largest national population. Its capital and largest city is
Kampala with a total population of 1,659,600. The country
encompasses 236,040 square kilometers making it the 80th largest country in total area. It shares boundaries with
Sudan, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda and Democratic Republic of the Congo.

President Lieutenant General Yoweri Kaguta Museveni is recognized as the Chief of State and Head of Government
and, along with Vice President Edward Ssekandi, achieves that status through popular vote and holds that position for
five years with no term limits. Prime Minister Amama Mbabazi has no executive power and achieves that status
through presidential appointment and is charged with assisting the President supervise the cabinet.  Its form of
government is a republic and they celebrate the creation of their constitution on 8th of October 1995.

The languages commonly or officially spoken are English, Ganda or Laganda, other Niger- Congo languages, Nilo-
Saharan languages, Swahili and Arabic. It counts among its major religions Roman Catholic, Protestant, Muslim and
Indigenous beliefs. As sources of mass communication it has 7 AM, 33 FM, 2 Short Wave and 8 Television stations.

Major geographical features are Mount Stanley, its highest point at 5,110 meters and Lake Albert, its lowest point at
621 meters. Its principal waterways are 200 kilometers of Lake Victoria and 200 kilometers of Lake Albert, Lake
Kyoga and parts of the Albert Nile, which measure approximately 400 kilometers.

Major industries providing for the bulk of their Gross Domestic Product (GDP) are sugar, brewing, tobacco, cotton
textiles, cement and steel production. Its official currency is the Ugandan Shilling.

Here’s something you may not know about Uganda. Uganda has five national parks dedicated to the preservation of
primates, particularly gorillas and chimpanzees.
African Elephant
The Equator Marker
on the
Baby gorilla
Kampala- Uganda's
capital and largest city
Lake Albert on the
border with the
Democratic Republic of
the Congo- Uganda's
lowest point
Lake Victoria at the
Albert Nile and Jinja-
some of Uganda's
principle waterways
Mount Mahinga- an
extinct volcano
Lake Edward on the
border with the
Democratic Republic of
the Congo
Abi's Home Page
Back to
Margherita Peak on
Mount Stanley-
Uganda's highest point
Passionate Ugandans
Tradtional Ugandan
matoke (mashed
green bananas, rice,
sweet potatoes,
(greens); other plate --
mpoombo stew (goat
meat stewed in a
banana leaf)
Read about human rights Pax
Gaea  World Post Report!
Adult Prevalence Rate:

People Living with HIV/AIDS:

HIV/AIDS Deaths:
6.5% (2009 est.)

1.2 million

Amudat- Uganda's
easternmost point on
the border with Kenya
Entebbe on Lake
Near Katuna-
southernmost point on
the border with Rwanda
Buffalo at Kidepo
National Park-
northernmost point on
the border with Sudan
Koboko Town near
Uganda's tri-border
with Sudan and
Democratic Republic of
the Congo
Mount Muhavara-
Uganda's westernmost
point on the border
with Democratic
Republic of the Congo
Mutukula on Uganda's
border with Tanzania
Tutsi dancers in
traditional dress