Holy See, also known as the State of the Vatican City, is located in the south of the European Continent, with a population
of 836, making it the 237th largest national population. Its capital and largest city is
Vatican City with a total population of
836. The country encompasses 0.44 square kilometers making it the 2
52nd largest country in total area. It is completely
enveloped within the city of Rome, Italy.

Pope Benedict XVI is recognized as the Chief of State and achieves that status through a vote of the College of Cardinals
and holds that position for life
or resignation. On 11 February 2013, Benedict XVI announced his resignation, which is set
to take effect on 28 February 2013, 8.00 pm making him the first pope to resign since Gregory XII in 1415.
Secretary of
State Cardinal Tarcisio Bertone is recognized as the Head of Government and achieves that status through appointment by
the pope and holds that position for life or until the death
or resignation of the pope. Its form of government is
Ecclesiastical and they celebrate the creation of their constitution on 22 February 2001.

The languages commonly or officially spoken are Italian, Latin, French and various other languages. It counts among its
major religions Roman Catholic. As sources of mass communication it has 4 AM, 3 FM, 2 Short Wave and 1 Television

Major geographical features are unnamed location, its highest point at 75 meters and another unnamed location, its lowest
point at 19 meters. As it is completely surrounded by a wall in the center of Rome, it has no waterways.

Major incomes sources providing for the bulk of their Gross Domestic Product (GDP) are through a combination of a
unique, noncommercial economy supported financially by an annual contribution (known as Peter's Pence) from Roman
Catholic dioceses throughout the world as well as commercial industry comprised of printing, production of coins, medals,
postage stamps; a small amount of mosaics and staff uniforms, worldwide banking and financial activities. Its official
currency is Euro.

Here’s something you may not know about Holy See. The Holy See is the world’s smallest country and the only nation
dedicated exclusively to the promotion of a religion.
The Creation of Man in
the Sistine Chapel
Ancient treasures
Door of the Vatican
Helena, mother of
Constantine statue
Lights burning in front
of the alter over the
burial place of Saint
Painting of popes in
the Vatican Museum
Abi's Home Page
Back to
Updated 17 February 2013
Adult Prevalence Rate:

People Living with HIV/AIDS:

HIV/AIDS Deaths:


Papal Gardens
Saint Peter's Square-
the easternmost and
lowest point of Vatican
Statue of Pieta
Remains of Saint John
Paul II
Swiss Guard
Saint Peter's Basilica
Statue of Saint
Statue of Saint Peter
Vatican clock next to
Saint Peter's Dome
Bavarian potato ravioli-
Pope Benedict's
favorite meal
Pontifical Academy of
The Train Station and
Heliport- Vatican City's
westernmost and
highest point
Vatican Museum
entrance- the
northernmost point of
Vatican City
Papal Audience Hall-
the southernmost point
of Vatican City
Read about human rights in Pax
World Post Report!