Republic of Yemen is located in the Middle East of the Asian Continent, with a population of 24,771,809, making it the 47th
largest national population. Its capital and largest city is
Sana’a with a total population of 1,937,500. The country
encompasses 527,968 square kilometers making it the
50th largest country in total area. It shares boundaries with Saudi
Arabia, Oman, Arabian Sea, Gulf of Aden, Bab el Mandeb and Red Sea.

and Field Marshall Abd Rabuh Mansur Hadi is recognized as the Chief of State and, along with a vice President
(the position is presently vacant) achieves that status through popular vote and holds that position for seven years however
a special election was held on 21 February 2012 to remove Ali Abdallah Salih based on a GCC-mediated deal during the
political crisis of 2011 (next election to be held in 2014). Interim Prime Minister Muhammad Salim Ba Sindwah is
recognized as the Head of Government and,achieves that status through appointment by the President and holds that
position untiil the next special election. Its form of government is a republic and they celebrate the creation of their
constitution on 16th of May 1991.

The languages commonly or officially spoken are Arabic. It counts among its major religions Shaf'i (Sunni) Muslim, Zaydi
(Shi’a) Muslim, Jewish, Christian and Hindu. As sources of mass communication it has 6 AM, 1 FM, 2 Short Wave and 7
Television stations.

Major geographical features are Jabal an Nabi Shu'ayb, its highest point at 3,760 meters and the Arabian Sea, its lowest
point at 0 meters. Its principal waterway is Arabian and Red Seas, which measure 1,096 kilometers of coastline.

Major industries providing for the bulk of their Gross Domestic Product (GDP) are crude oil production and petroleum
refining, small-scale production of cotton textiles and leather goods, food processing, handicrafts; small aluminum products
factory; cement and commercial ship repair. Its official currency is Yemen Rial.

Here’s something you may not know about Yemen. North Yemen became independent of the Ottoman Empire in 1918. The
British, who had set up a protectorate area around the southern port of Aden in the 19th century, withdrew in 1967 from
what became South Yemen.
Aden on Bab el
Mandeb- the entrance
to the Red Sea
Coffee farm in Ibb
Yemeni Coffee Beans
Sanaw- the northern
and easternmost town
of Yemen
Sana'a- Yemen's
capital and largest city
Beach near Sayhut on
the Arabian Sea-
Yemen's lowest point
and principle waterway
Yemen women in
traditional dress
Abi's Home Page
Back to
Tradtional Yemeni
house in Nishtun
Updated 17 February 2013
Adult Prevalence Rate:

People Living with HIV/AIDS:

HIV/AIDS Deaths:
0.1% (2001 est.)


Jabal an Nabi Shu'ayb-
Yemen's high point
Mocha- once the
center of world coffee
Wadi Dawan
Hadiiboh on Socotra
Island on the Arabia
Sea- the southernmost
point of Yemen
Kamaran Island- the
westernmost point of
Perim Island at
Yemen's entrance of
the Red Sea's Bab el
Mandeb Strait
Rub al Khali- the
Empty Quarter and the
tri-border of Saudi
Arabia, Oman and
Yemen and the
northern and
easternmost point of
Read about human rights in Pax
Gaea World Post Report!